Quick Answer: Does Archive WhatsApp Delete?

What happens when you archive a chat in Facebook Messenger?

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person, while deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox..

How do you permanently delete archived WhatsApp messages?

To do this, go to the archived folder and either swipe left on iOS devices or tap and hold the conversation in question for Android devices. If you want to return the chat to the regular conversation list, select Unarchive. If you want to delete it/leave the conversation, select More and then Delete Chat or Exit Group.

Why you should not use WhatsApp?

Thus, WhatsApp stores all the chats on its servers, even the messages we have deleted. This negatively affects our privacy, and the fact that messages are stored on servers should be a sign that we should be able to have real cross-platform messaging, which could soon include the app.

How do I clean up WhatsApp?

Tap on the “Free Up Space” button in the bottom-right corner of the screen. Now, tap on the checkmark next to the media type you want to delete. Next, tap on the “Delete Items” button. From the popup, tap on the “Clear Messages” option.

How do I delete archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

How can I hide someone on WhatsApp?

However, if a call is started from WhatsApp on an Android phone or iPhone, you can have a total of eight participants, including yourself. If you want to hide a contact, tap or select All Contacts or Contacts > WhatsApp > the contact you want to hide > > Hide Contact > Hide.

Where does Archive WhatsApp go?

Scroll to the bottom of your chat inbox, where you should see Archived Conversations. If you do not see this option it means you do not have any archived chats. Tapping Archived Conversations will display all your archived conversations.

What is the difference between archive and delete WhatsApp?

Deleting is getting rid of all of them permanently. As in adios forever, and don’t expect to ever see them come back. Archiving on the other hand is simply filing them away in another area of the app. You are not deleting them – you are simply moving them for the sake of tidiness.

Do people know when you archive them on WhatsApp?

Archiving is about a clear view and keepsakes. WhatsApp won’t notify the other person if you archive the conversation, as it doesn’t inform them if you’ve deleted it. It also doesn’t have any effect on your online status – all archived chats will still show if you’re online.

How can I recover my deleted WhatsApp group?

Then scroll down to the “Advanced features” section, click on “Undelete a group”, and then select the deleted group from the list that appears. On iPhone or Android: In your “Recent activity” feed, tap on the entry for when the group was originally deleted. The app will ask you if you’d like to undelete your group.

Does the other person know if you archive a chat in Messenger?

For both delete and archive, when the other person messages you, the message will appear in your inbox and you will be notified about it like any other message. … However, in case of the archive, the previous messages will still be there, but the chat thread will be empty for deleted messages.

Can you delete WhatsApp chats on both sides?

To delete messages for everyone: … Tap and hold the message. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Tap Delete > Delete for everyone.

How can I permanently archive my WhatsApp group?

How can I permanently archive my WhatsApp group?Open your WhatsApp and then tap Three dots.Select the Settings and tap on Archived Chats.Next, you need to choose the Individual chat or Group you want to unarchive.Tap on the Unarchive option.

Do archived chats on WhatsApp get deleted?

8. Archive All Chats. If you want to clean your inbox entirely without deleting the chats, you can archive all chats simultaneously. The feature is available on Android and iPhone only.

What happens if you archive a chat on WhatsApp?

Much like when you’re emailing, archiving a conversation doesn’t delete it. The chat is still stored by WhatsApp and you can search for the group or individual again. When you get another message to the chat it reappears in your inbox with all the old messages still there. Nothing is lost at all by archiving messages.

How can I hide WhatsApp chat without archive?

Long press on the chat that you wish to unarchive. Then, tap the Unarchive icon on the top bar. Note: Archive chats feature is added to WhatsApp for better organization of your chats. You can hide all those conversations which no longer chat with you.

Can you archive WhatsApp messages?

Archive a chat or group You can archive all chats at once in WhatsApp Settings > Chats > Archive All Chats.

How can I recover WhatsApp deleted messages?

To restore your backup:Uninstall and reinstall WhatsApp.Open WhatsApp and verify your number.When prompted, tap RESTORE to restore your chats and media from Google Drive.After the restoration process is complete, tap NEXT. … WhatsApp will begin restoring your media files after your chats are restored.