Quick Answer: Why Does My IPhone Archive Instead Of Delete?

How do you delete instead of archive on iPhone?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail.

Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox..

What is the purpose of archiving?

Archiving involves moving data that is no longer frequently accessed off primary systems for long-term retention. Unlike data on primary storage, which needs to be frequently accessed and modified, archived data is retained for long periods of time, and best searched for when needed.

Why can’t I swipe to delete email on iPhone?

You can swipe to delete messages in the iPhone ‘s Mail app , but you’ll need to enable this option in Settings. By default, you’ll only have the option to “Archive” these emails instead of deleting them. To add “Delete” to the Mail app’s swipe options, head to the “Accounts” section of the settings menu.

Why do I get archive instead of delete?

Google archiving removes messages from your Inbox, but keeps them in your account so that you can always find them later. This is like moving messages into a filing cabinet for safekeeping, rather than putting them in the trash can. Archiving removes the Inbox label.

How do I change Archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

Why do emails reappear after deleting?

Deleted emails reappearing sounds like you might have some corruption going on with Inbox. … Deleted emails reappearing sounds like you might have some corruption going on with Inbox. Move all wanted emails out of Inbox and put them in a suitably named folder for storage. Delete anything you do not want.

How do I change from archive to delete in Apple Mail?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

How do I get rid of an email that won’t delete on my iPhone?

Answer: A: Try going into Settings > Accounts & Password > account > Account > Advanced > Deleted Mailbox, and under On The Server tap the ‘Trash’ folder so that it gets a tick against it – then come out of that series of popups by tapping on the relevant buttons at the top of them and see if you can now delete emails.

Is archiving the same as deleting?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Do archived messages take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

Where do archived emails go?

To see archived emails on your Android device —> open your Gmail app —> click on the hamburger icon on top left, and then click on All Mail label. Here you will see all archived emails as shown in the screenshot below.

Does Outlook Archive Delete?

For Microsoft 365, Outlook.com, and Exchange accounts, the Archive folder is one of Outlook’s default folders, like Inbox, Sent Items, and the Deleted Items folder. This folder can’t be deleted. … Using the Archive button to move messages to the Archive folder doesn’t reduce your mailbox size.

How do I change Archive to delete in iOS 13?

You’re not seeing a delete option and an archive option instead, because your deleted emails location is set as Archive. This can be changed under the following settings: Settings > Account & Password > Tap on Account > Advanced > Select Deleted Mailbox; after that, it will mass delete the emails.

How do I delete all archived messages?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+). See the delete icon when you view messages….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

Do archived text messages get deleted?

Archive text conversations, calls or voicemail messages You can hide a conversation from your inbox without deleting it. If someone replies to a conversation that you’ve archived, the messages will appear again in your inbox.

How do I stop emails going to archive?

You can stop automatic archiving by the following steps: Open Outlook > Folders > Auto Archive settings > Ensure the Option ‘ Don’t archive items in this folder’ is enabled.

What happens if I delete the mail app on my iPhone?

When the Mail app gets deleted on an iPhone, any of the email accounts you linked to it will be switched to inactive even after you reinstall the app. To make them active again, open the Settings app and tap Accounts & Passwords. Under the list of your accounts, tap on your email address.

Why do I have to delete my emails twice?

This behavior is probably the result of your email program on your local computer being set up as POP3. … You will see the emails in each place, because you’re downloading a “copy” of the email to each device. So when you delete an email on your desktop computer, it will still be on your mobile device.

How do I delete archived messages on my iPhone?

Open up a conversation. Tap and hold on any message within. Tap on “More” when the pop-up options appear. Tap on “Delete All” in the top left, then “Delete Conversation” to confirm.

How do I delete Google archive?

Items that you delete will also be removed from any Google products they appear in, like Blogger.Go to the album archive.Open the photo or album you want to delete.At the top right, click More Delete .If you don’t see “Delete,” click Manage in Google Photos to delete your photos.